5. Mar
Porsche Informatik goes art, episode 2 Expressing corporate values through art

“In interaction and collaboration, people need guiding principles and values, preferably a collective self-image, rather like corporate DNA”, were the opening words of CEOs Rainer Trischak and Manfred Immitzer in their eulogy. This is the second time that our guiding principles – the Porsche Informatik DNA – have been cleverly visualised by a team of creative artists from the company. When the outcomes from the second art workshop were presented at the company Christmas event they prompted loud applause, and they now grace our office building. A third workshop is currently in the planning phase.

Making our corporate values physically visible

As part of Porsche Informatik’s strategic reorientation, we have redefined our mission statement and corporate values. To communicate and disseminate those values more effectively, in 2017 a unique project was launched at Porsche Informatik. The goal: to use art to render our values physically visible and thereby help visualize change at the company.

Around a year ago, the Change Agents art group, headed by Salzburg artist Thomas Nowotny, held an initial workshop entitled “Change at Porsche Informatik”. Forms of artistic expression were found for two ideas: the “Double Helix”, our “DNA” for the origins or initial spark for our new strategic orientation; and the “Runner” as a symbol of our new, vigorous approach. The resulting pictures were presented at the annual kick-off event and since then have been a striking visual presence in the stairwell and reception area at company headquarters.

In November 2018, the Change Agents group met again at the studio for a second joint workshop focusing on “Porsche Informatik DNA”. This time the four main members of the art group, Leopold Strauss, Gerald Nezerka, Ruben Blaszczyk and Michaela Alker, were joined by Friederike Jordan. Of the five Porsche Informatik values, two were chosen: “Commitment” and “Exploit opportunities” (“Chancen nutzen”).

Two key components of our DNA

The only way to achieve great things is through collaboration: nobody’s perfect, but a team can be! It is particularly important to be able to rely on colleagues, their promises and their commitment. Agreements must be honoured, and any changes must be handled in a timely manner. In the event of problems, it is vital to actively approach others and acknowledge one’s own responsibility. Provided everyone keeps their word, individual achievements, including individual artworks, can result in a complete work of art.

“Commitment”

More than ever, today’s world is in a state of constant and ongoing change. That is particularly true of the working world. But for all those interested, change can open up new chances and possibilities. Innovation can be initiated on a small scale too, and everyone should actively make use of the available opportunities. Having the confidence to pursue new avenues and develop as a person will ultimately lead to success for the entire team and for each individual.

Those two topics were tackled jointly with Thomas Nowotny over a three-day period. Actual creation of the artworks began after lengthy preparations and several brainstorming sessions. An additional goal was to incorporate into the artworks the ideas of “diversity” and “modularity”, which play a key role at Porsche Informatik.

“Chance”

Joint outcomes

For “Exploit opportunities” (“Chancen nutzen”), we used very strong colours, denoting the new, the unexplored and the future. Diversity is conveyed through the use of different fonts. Since we are an IT company, we used binary system imagery to represent technology. Each individual segment contains contributions from all participants, and the final picture consisting of six segments is thus a joint composition.

“Commitment”, consisting of ten individual segments, is slightly more complex. Each participant took responsibility for creating a basic concept for two segments. After that, each participant chose two segments at random and created a letter for each of those segments. The ideas of diversity, heterogeneity and our broad range of differences were captured by rendering each letter of the word “Commitment” in a different font. Together, the ten segments form a unit, which reflects the way our commitment binds us together. The human figures function as a further connective element.

What conclusions did we draw from the workshop? Notwithstanding all our differences and contrasts, if we pull together and cooperate rather than compete with each other, if we work together rather than against each other, and if we conduct ourselves with suitable restraint and consideration for others, we can achieve remarkable things. The project as a whole was once again a memorable experience for all of us, and we are already looking forward to the next phase!

The art group and painter Thomas Nowotny

Michaela Alker

has held a wide variety of posts in the Infrastructure division in her 14 years with us. She is currently responsible for Communication and Knowledge Management within the Infrastructure & Common Platforms department. Furthermore, she is supporting our company in a strategic realignment in her role as a Change Agent. She is also the spokesperson for the Change Agents.

5. Mrz
Porsche Informatik goes Art, Episode 2 Unternehmenswerte kunstvoll in Szene gesetzt

„Menschen brauchen im Zusammenleben wie in der Zusammenarbeit Leitlinien und Werte – am besten ein kollektives Selbstverständnis, so etwas wie eine DNA“, begannen die Geschäftsführer der Porsche Informatik Rainer Trischak und Manfred Immitzer ihre Laudatio. Einmal mehr wurde unsere Leitlinie, die „Porsche-Informatik-DNA“, von einem kreativen Künstler*innenteam aus den eigenen Reihen kongenial visualisiert. Die Ergebnisse des zweiten Kunst-Workshops bekamen bei der Präsentation auf der Firmenweihnachtsfeier viel Applaus und zieren nun unser Bürogebäude. Runde drei ist bereits in Planung.

Unternehmenswerte sichtbar machen

Im Zuge der strategischen Neuausrichtung der Porsche Informatik haben wir die Missionen und Werte des Unternehmens neu definiert. Um diese besser kommunizieren und in die Breite tragen zu können, startete 2017 ein bisher einzigartiges Projekt innerhalb der Porsche Informatik: mittels Kunst sichtbar zu machen, wofür das Unternehmen steht und damit dem Wandel (Change) in der Firma ein Gesicht zu geben.

Vor gut einem Jahr setzte die Kunstgruppe der Change Agents unter Anleitung des Salzburger Künstlers Thomas Nowotny den Initial-Workshop zum Thema „Change in der Porsche Informatik“ um. Dabei wurden zwei Themen bildnerisch festgehalten: die Doppelhelix, unsere „DNA“ für den Ursprung, die Initialzündung für eine neue strategische Ausrichtung, und der „Runner“ als Symbol für unsere neue, kraftvolle Richtung. Die dabei entstandenen Bilder wurden am Jahres-Kick-off präsentiert und werten seither auf spektakuläre Weise Stiegenhaus und Empfangsbereich des Firmensitzes auf.

Im November 2018 kamen die Change Agents erneut im Atelier zusammen, um sich in einem zweiten gemeinsamen Workshop dem Thema der „Porsche-Informatik-DNA“ zu widmen. Zu den vier „Hauptprotagonisten“ der Kunstgruppe Leopold Strauss, Gerald Nezerka, Ruben Blaszczyk und Michaela Alker stieß diesmal Friederike Jordan neu hinzu. Aus den „5 Werten der Porsche Informatik“ griffen sie sich zwei heraus: „Commitment“ und „Chancen nutzen“.

Zwei wesentliche Bausteine unserer DNA

Großes kann man nur leisten, wenn man zusammenarbeitet: Nobody’s perfect, but a team can be! Und dabei muss man sich auf die Kolleg*innen verlassen können, auf ihre Zusagen – auf ihr Commitment. Getroffene Vereinbarungen müssen verbindlich eingehalten und etwaige Abweichungen frühzeitig behandelt werden. Bei Problemen geht man daher aktiv auf den anderen zu und bekennt sich zur eigenen Verantwortung. Wenn alle zu ihrem Wort stehen, dann entsteht aus Einzelleistungen – aus einzelnen Bildern – ein Gesamtkunstwerk.

„Commitment“

Mehr denn je ist unsere heutige Welt von stetigem Wandel geprägt. Das gilt umso mehr für die Arbeitswelt. Doch aus der Veränderung können sich für alle, die daran interessiert sind, neue Chancen und Möglichkeiten ergeben. Innovationen kann man auch im Kleinen initiieren, und jede*r sollte den Gestaltungsspielraum, der zur Verfügung steht, auch aktiv nutzen. Sich zu trauen, neue Wege zu gehen, und sich auch persönlich weiterzuentwickeln führt letztendlich zum Erfolg – für das ganze Team und auch für jede*n einzelne*n.

Diesen beiden Themen haben wir uns gemeinsam mit Thomas Nowotny drei Tage lang gewidmet. Der eigentlichen künstlerischen Arbeit gingen zunächst viel Vorbereitungszeit und einige Brainstormings voraus. Ziel war es dabei auch, die Aspekte Diversität und Modularität, die für uns bei Porsche Informatik tragende Rollen spielen, in die Werke einfließen zu lassen.

„Chancen nutzen“

Gemeinschaftsprodukte

Im Bild Chancen nutzen haben wir sehr kräftige Farben verwendet. Sie stehen für das Neue, das Unerforschte, die Zukunft. Die Diversität wird durch die Wahl unterschiedlicher Schriftarten dargestellt. Da wir eine IT-Firma sind, haben wir durch die Verwendung des Binärsystems auch noch den technischen Aspekt hineingebracht. Jedes der Bilder wurde von allen Teilnehmer*innen bearbeitet. So ist das finale Bild, das aus sechs Einzelbildern besteht, eine gemeinsame Komposition geworden.

Das Bild Commitment ist noch komplexer: Es besteht aus zehn Einzelbildern. Hier wurden von jeder*m von uns jeweils zwei Bilder in der Grundgestaltung erarbeitet. Anschließend wählte jede*r willkürlich zwei Bilder aus und gestaltete darauf jeweils einen Buchstaben. Auch hier haben wir wieder die Diversität in der Porsche Informatik, unsere Verschiedenartigkeit und unsere Variationsbreite eingearbeitet, indem jeder Buchstabe des Wortes „Commitment“ in einer anderen Schriftart ausgeführt wurde. Dennoch bilden alle zehn Einzelbilder eine Einheit, so wie wir durch unser Commitment miteinander verbunden sind. Als verbindendes Element haben wir die Darstellung von Menschenfiguren gewählt.

Unser Fazit aus diesem Workshop: So unterschiedlich und gegensätzlich wir alle sein mögen – wenn wir alle an einem Strang ziehen und kooperieren statt zu konkurrieren, wenn wir miteinander statt gegeneinander arbeiten und jede*r sich selbst etwas zurücknimmt, dann kommt etwas ganz Großes und Tolles dabei heraus. Das ganze Projekt war für uns alle wieder eine sehr schöne Erfahrung, und wir freuen uns schon sehr auf die Fortsetzung!

Die Kunstgruppe und Maler Thomas Nowotny

Michaela Alker

hatte in ihren 14 Jahren bei uns bereits die unterschiedlichsten Jobs im Bereich Infrastruktur inne. Derzeit ist sie für Kommunikation und Wissensmanagement im Bereich Infrastructure & Common Platforms zuständig. Außerdem begleitet sie unser Unternehmen in einer strategischen Neuausrichtung als Change Agent und ist auch Sprecherin der Change Agents.