Girls' Day 2017

Girls’ Day 2017

8. May
Girls’ Day 2017 at Porsche Informatik in Salzburg On 27th April 2017, Porsche Informatik for the second time opened its office doors for Girls’ Day.

Girls’ Day is a cross-border event day of the EuRegio Salzburg – Berchtesgadener Land – Traunstein, on which companies, government offices and secondary schools offer young girls an insight into a variety of professions and training opportunities. Especially classic male domains such as technology, science and manual trades seek more young female talent here.

Interested girls from 10 to 16 years of age had the opportunity to accompany their parents to work and to experience a full day of work in a participating company. In 2016, Porsche Informatik first participated in Girls’ Day, which was a resounding success. Therefore we were delighted to take part again this year.

For a whole day, we presented our company and jobs to 10 girls. We wanted to show the students how exciting IT can be and to generally enthuse the girls more for technical jobs.
The program was varied: from lively presentation of the development process using the example of a paper aeroplane to small coding tasks and even diving into a virtual world using a VR headset and headphones.

At lunchtime, councillor Martina Berthold dropped in. She spoke of her own background and encouraged the girls to thoroughly inform themselves about various job types to broaden the horizons of their professional futures.

At the end of the day, the girls awarded the most “likes” to the reports of the mentors about their personal career paths in the IT sector and their roles and tasks at Porsche Informatik. This once again showed us how important it is for young girls to come into contact with female role models.

The day with our young guests was great fun and we are already looking forward to Girls’ Day 2018.

Verena Reinbacher
Verena Reinbacher

has been working as a technical writer for Porsche Informatik since 2011 . She is responsible for the CROSS translations and documentations for Volkswagen and Porsche Holding countries. She planned or co-organised the teenager events (Girls’ Day and Smart Summer) at the Porsche Informatik in 2017 and 2018.

Girls' Day 2017
8. Mai
Girls’ Day 2017 bei Porsche Informatik in Salzburg Am 27. April 2017 haben wir zum zweiten Mal unsere Türen für den Girls’ Day geöffnet.

Der Girls’ Day ist ein grenzüberschreitender Aktionstag der EuRegio Salzburg – Berchtesgadener Land – Traunstein, bei dem Betriebe, Behörden und weiterführende Schulen jungen Mädchen einen Einblick in unterschiedlichste Berufe und Ausbildungsmöglichkeiten geben. Vor allem klassische „Männerdomänen“ wie Technik, Naturwissenschaften und Handwerk werben damit um mehr weiblichen Nachwuchs.

Interessierte Mädchen zwischen 10 und 16 Jahren können ihre Eltern in die Arbeit begleiten oder einen Tag lang den Arbeitsalltag in einer der teilnehmenden Firmen erleben. Porsche Informatik war 2016 das erste Mal beim Girls’ Day dabei, und es war ein voller Erfolg. Deshalb haben wir auch heuer wieder sehr gerne mitgemacht.

Einen Tag lang haben wir 10 Mädchen unser Unternehmen und die jeweiligen Berufsbilder präsentiert. Wir wollten den Schülerinnen zeigen, wie spannend IT sein kann, und die Mädchen ganz generell mehr für technische Berufe begeistern.
Das Programm war vielfältig: vom anschaulichen Darstellen des Entwicklungsprozesses anhand eines Papierfliegers über kleine Codieraufgaben bis hin zum Eintauchen in eine virtuelle Welt mittels VR-Brille und Kopfhörer.

Zu Mittag hat Landesrätin Martina Berthold vorbeigeschaut. Sie erzählte von ihrem eigenen Werdegang und ermutigte die Mädchen, sich intensiv über verschiedenste Berufsbilder zu informieren und damit ihre Perspektiven für die eigene berufliche Zukunft zu erweitern.

Am Ende des Tages vergaben die Mädchen die meisten „Likes“ für die Berichte der Mentorinnen über ihre persönlichen Wege in die IT-Branche und ihre Rollen und Aufgaben bei der Porsche Informatik. Das zeigt uns einmal mehr, wie wichtig es für junge Mädchen ist, mit weiblichen „Role Models“ in Berührung zu kommen.

Der Tag mit unseren jungen Gästen hat uns sehr viel Spaß gemacht und wir freuen uns heute schon auf den Girls’ Day 2018.

Verena Reinbacher
Verena Reinbacher

ist in der Porsche Informatik seit 2011 für die technische Redaktion CROSS 2 verantwortlich und koordiniert die Applikationsübersetzung für die Volkswagen- und Porsche-Holding-Märkte. 2017 hat sie Jugend-Initiativen wie den Girls‘ Day und den Smart Summer organisiert.