11. Jul
Continuous Delivery How a new form of cooperation makes the impossible possible

What can you do if given less time than you really need to deal with a task – but no additional resources? Our technical architect, Gerold Glaser, was presented precisely with this problem. In order to solve it, he wasted no time at all in restructuring the development process. His method, based on automation and very close cooperation with the customer, is so successful that it has since become our new standard. He explains here in an interview with Michaela Alker how exactly this came to pass and what challenges await application developers in the future.

Michaela: Gerold, what does “continuous delivery” mean?

Gerold: Technically, continuous delivery (CD) consists of three areas: continuous integration, continuous delivery and continuous deployment – but generally only continuous delivery is referred to in practice.

Continuous integration has been a reality at Porsche Informatik for many years. As soon as a developer makes a source code change, an application package is prepared, which then passes through the widest variety of manual stations in a pipeline.

Until now, however, the next stage was neglected here, meaning that it was often a very long time from preparation until product deployment. In our corporate strategy 4.0, we set ourselves the target of becoming much faster and shortening the release cycles substantially.

What was the trigger, the initial impulse for you then to implement this missing step as well?

The trigger was the task to develop an application with two people within three months. In spite of all our deliberations and endeavours, we were only able to make a commitment to the client at that time to implement the project within five months. Since the client was unwilling to deviate from his target, I was given the task in-house to come up with a solution for implementing this assignment.

Did this put you under a lot of pressure?

To begin with, yes, because I didn’t know exactly where to start. A process chain needed to be completed. But it soon became clear to me that I would not be able to complete this task with a conventional mindset, using traditional means. The schedule and budget had been fixed, so I had to make do with the resources available.

After a period of intensive effort, I then developed the following idea: Time savings were only achievable if we established a new form of cooperation with the client and transferred part of the manual pipeline into something automated to the greatest possible extent. This gave rise to co-creation, a process in which we consult with the customer on a weekly basis.

How was it previously? What sort of time frame did clients have to reckon with from the idea to completion?

Formerly, one to two years could pass from order placement through to release.

When you conceived this idea, was it clear how much time you could save with this new working method?

Not to begin with, because we first had to cooperate with the client in fathoming how we could jointly optimise our modus operandi and which time-intensive steps we could omit, without suffering any loss in quality.

What means did you use for implementation and what was the greatest innovation for the customer in this process?

We employed the OpenShift/Docker architecture. It must be ensured in the core process that there are no more manual to-dos and that the individual work packages are of a high quality. The release process on the customer side also had to be changed.

One new feature is that the clients themselves accept the changes digitally in the development environment and then start the deployment process themselves as well. Use of the new version in the production environment is then initiated fully automatically.

BrowserStack is used to test the core processes of applications fully automatically on different terminal devices and with various browsers. Once everything is OK on all devices, i.e. when all tests are finished, the application packages arrive in the QA environment for acceptance by the clients themselves.

Does this also work reliably with sensitive systems?

Naturally, we also then installed a security network, a so-called “A/B deployment” system. Only a specific circle of users at the customer receives a new part of the application. This means that there are always two versions on the market. For Internet applications, there is a percentage key – 10% of the apps receive the latest version. If this runs well, then all other users receive it automatically. If it is not accepted or a specific user group does not react well to the changes, then no further rollout takes place.

For our trading applications, such as the VU2, CROSS and Retailer apps, there is always a three-stage pilot programme, because these are very critical applications. This prevents a change from laying low a whole country or a whole customer group all at once. Another important aspect is that our applications must always be available. In other words: zero downtime!

Once you’d reached a consensus, how fast were you actually in the implementation?

Thanks to the establishment of co-creation, weekly acceptance cycles and a high degree of automation in repetitive steps, we ultimately achieved a 50% time saving. In actual fact, we were so fast that we finished several weeks before the target deadline!

Wow, congratulations! But doesn’t such a result set a very high standard for all other developments?

Not really, not once you’ve become accustomed to the new way of working and you cooperate so intensively with the clients. The ongoing coordination and high degree of automation simply make the process much quicker than before.

Where did you receive support from? Was your idea promoted within the company?

The company management was completely behind the idea from the very start and did a lot to expedite and establish it. If an idea has added value for the customer in reducing the time-to-market and also leads to greater customer satisfaction, you naturally receive the management’s wholehearted support – and the result is a real success story.

A real success story – rewarded with the Change Award in the category „Quality“.

What was the effect of this change on your own way of working, and what effects has it had in general on the role of a developer?

In future, an application developer must have the ability to see everything from the customer’s perspective while also having a complete technical understanding of the subject. This means that the traditional role of an application developer will have to be supplemented with soft skills, knowledge, creativity and idea generation.

Application developers will always have to bear the future in mind, because, if an application is good and very well received, then it must also be endlessly upwardly scalable at any time if the market uses it intensively. In addition, it must always be possible to react flexibly to the market: If an application is no longer accessed, it must also be possible to downgrade it, i.e. the application must be downwardly scalable as well, and many small changes must not have any global effects.

Overall, this is then referred to as BizDevOps – the amalgamation of development with business and operation.

If you have become so fast, does this mean that fewer employees will be required in future?

Even if we are five times quicker with the time-to-market than before, we still need plenty of staff, because the customer requirements are endless!

And what is your vision for the future?

In future, we will be employing AI (artificial intelligence) and VR/AR (virtual and augmented reality) in order to implement customer needs even more effectively and efficiently. Another example is Google Vision: Software will no longer be programmed in future, instead it will be trained in almost the same way as a dog. Application developers will potentially be training modules rather than developing them themselves.

This means that an application developer will be faced with the challenge of always being on the ball in future, in order to be able to employ tools such as AI/VR/AR in application development in a targeted and time-saving manner. Tools such as Google Glasses & co. will allow additional operating elements to be integrated into our applications.

Gerold, thank you very much for your explanations and your insight into the life of an application developer. I’m keen to know how you get on in future – I’ll stay on the ball!

Michaela Alker

has held a wide variety of posts in the Infrastructure division in her 14 years with us. She is currently responsible for Communication and Knowledge Management within the Infrastructure & Common Platforms department. Furthermore, she is supporting our company in a strategic realignment in her role as a Change Agent. She is also the spokesperson for the Change Agents.

11. Jul
Continuous Delivery Wie eine neue Form der Zusammenarbeit Unmögliches möglich macht

Was tun, wenn man für einen Auftrag weniger Zeit bekommt, als man eigentlich braucht – und keine zusätzlichen Ressourcen? Unser Technischer Architekt Gerold Glaser stand vor genau diesem Problem. Um es zu lösen, hat er kurzerhand den Entwicklungsprozess neu strukturiert. Seine Methode, die auf Automatisierung und engste Zusammenarbeit mit den Kunden setzt, ist so erfolgreich, dass sie bei uns sofort zum neuen Standard wurde. Wie genau es dazu kam und welche künftigen Herausforderungen auf Anwendungsentwickler warten, erzählt er hier im Interview mit Michaela Alker.

Michaela: Gerold, was bedeutet Continuous Delivery?

Gerold: Eigentlich setzt sich Continuous Delivery (CD) aus drei Bereichen zusammen: Continuous Integration, Continuous Delivery und Continuous Deployment – aber in der Praxis spricht man in der Regel nur von Continuous Delivery.

Continuous Integration wird seit vielen Jahren in der Porsche Informatik gelebt. Sobald ein Entwickler eine Quellcode-Änderung durchführt, wird ein Applikationspaket gebaut, welches dann die verschiedensten manuellen Stationen einer Pipeline durchläuft.

Bisher ist uns aber die nächste Stufe abgegangen, das heißt von der Erstellung bis zum Product Deployment verging oft ein sehr langer Zeitraum. Mit unserer Unternehmensstrategie 4.0 haben wir uns das Ziel vorgenommen, viel schneller zu werden und die Releasezyklen massiv zu verkürzen.

Was war der Auslöser, die Initialzündung dafür, dass ihr diesen fehlenden Schritt dann auch umgesetzt habt?

Auslöser war der Auftrag, innerhalb von drei Monaten mit zwei Personen eine Applikation zu entwickeln. Trotz aller Überlegungen und Anstrengungen konnten wir zu diesem Zeitpunkt dem Auftraggeber jedoch nur eine Umsetzung innerhalb von fünf Monaten zusagen. Da der Auftraggeber aber nicht von seiner Zielvorgabe abgehen wollte, habe ich firmenintern den Auftrag erhalten, mir eine Lösung zu überlegen, um diese Aufgabenstellung umzusetzen.

Hat dich das nicht enorm unter Druck gesetzt?

Zu Beginn schon, weil ich zuerst nicht genau wusste, wo ich ansetzen musste. Es war ja eine Prozesskette zu erfüllen. Aber mir wurde relativ schnell klar, dass man diese Vorgabe mit herkömmlicher Denkweise und der Verwendung von traditionellen Mitteln nicht erfüllen kann. Der Zeitplan und das Budget waren vorgegeben. Das hieß also, ich musste mit den vorhandenen Ressourcen auskommen.

Nach einiger Zeit intensivster Anstrengung entwickelte ich dann folgende Idee: Eine Zeitersparnis war nur zu erreichen, wenn wir mit dem Auftraggeber eine neue Form der Zusammenarbeit etablieren und ein Teil der manuellen Pipeline in eine weitestgehende Automatisierung überführt wird. Daraus entstand die Co-Creation, bei der wir uns wöchentlich mit dem Kunden abstimmen.

Wie war das bisher, mit welchem Zeitfenster hatte man als Auftraggeber zu rechnen von der Idee bis zum Finish?

Früher vergingen manchmal vom Auftrag bis zur Freigabe ein bis zwei Jahre.

Als du diese Idee geboren hast, war dir klar, wie viel Zeit du mit dieser neuen Arbeitsweise einsparen kannst?

Zuerst nicht, denn wir mussten zuerst mit dem Auftraggeber gemeinsam ausloten, wie wir unsere Arbeitsweise gemeinsam optimieren können und welche zeitintensiven Schritte man weglassen kann, ohne dabei einen Qualitätsverlust zu haben.

Welches Mittel habt ihr zur Umsetzung eingesetzt und was war für den Kunden die massivste Neuerung in diesem Prozess?

Zum Einsatz kam die OpenShift/Docker-Architektur. Im Kernprozess muss gewährleistet sein, dass es keine manuellen To-dos mehr gibt und die einzelnen Arbeitspakete von hoher Qualität sind. Auch der Freigabeprozess seitens des Kunden musste geändert werden.

Neu ist beispielsweise, dass der Auftraggeber selbst die Änderungen in der Entwicklungsumgebung digital abnimmt und dann den Deploymentprozess selbst startet. Der Einsatz der neuen Version auf der Produktivumgebung wird dann von selbst und voll automatisiert gestartet.

Mittels Browserstack wird so voll automatisiert der Kernprozess von Applikationen auf verschiedenen Endgeräten und mit diversen Browsern getestet. Wenn auf allen Geräten alles okay ist, sprich alle Tests durch sind, dann kommen die Applikationspakete auf die QA-Umgebung zur Abnahme durch den Auftraggeber selbst.

Funktioniert das auch bei sensiblen Systemen zuverlässig?

Selbstverständlich haben wir in weiterer Folge auch ein Sicherheitsnetz installiert: ein sogenanntes A/B-Deployment. Nur ein gewisser Anwenderkreis beim Kunden bekommt einen neuen Teil der Applikation, das heißt, es gibt immer zwei Versionen am Markt. Bei Internetapplikationen gibt es einen prozentuellen Schlüssel – 10% der Apps erhalten die neueste Version. Läuft diese gut, erhalten sie automatisch auch alle anderen Anwender. Wird sie nicht angenommen oder reagiert ein gewisser Nutzerkreis nicht gut auf die Änderungen, erfolgt keine weitere Ausspielung.

Bei unseren Handelsapplikationen wie VU2, CROSS oder Retailer Apps gibt es immer ein dreistufiges Pilotprogramm, da es sich hier um sehr kritische Applikationen handelt. Damit wird vermieden, dass eine Änderung gleich ein ganzes Land oder eine gesamte Kundengruppe stilllegt. Wichtig ist ja außerdem immer, dass unsere Applikationen ständig verfügbar sein müssen, das heißt: Zero Downtime!

Als ihr dann einen Konsens gefunden hattet, wie schnell seid ihr dann tatsächlich in der Umsetzung gewesen?

Mit der Etablierung einer Co-Creation, wöchentlichen Abnahmezyklen und durch einen hohen Automatisierungsgrad bei sich wiederholenden Schritten waren es im Endeffekt 50% Zeitersparnis. Wir waren dann so schnell, dass wir sogar einige Wochen vor der Zielvorgabe fertig waren!

Wow, Gratulation! Aber legt so ein Ergebnis nicht für alle weiteren Entwicklungen die Messlatte ganz schön hoch?

Wenn man sich erstmal an die neue Arbeitsweise gewöhnt hat und so intensiv mit den Auftraggebern zusammenarbeitet, eigentlich nicht. Durch die laufenden Abstimmungen und den hohen Automatisierungsgrad geht es einfach viel schneller als vorher.

Von welcher Seite habt ihr Unterstützung bekommen? Wurde deine Idee innerhalb der Firma gefördert?

Die Geschäftsführung war von Anfang an voll überzeugt und hat das Thema auch weiter vorangetrieben und etabliert. Wenn eine Idee einen Mehrwert für den Kunden hat, damit die Time-to-Market verkürzt wird und dies dann auch zu noch mehr Kundenzufriedenheit führt, bekommt man klarerweise die volle Unterstützung – und dann wird auch eine Erfolgsstory daraus.

Eine echte Erfolgsgeschichte – gekrönt mit dem Change Award in der Kategorie „Quality“.

Wie hat sich diese Änderung auf deine eigene Arbeitsweise ausgewirkt, oder welche Auswirkungen hat dies generell auf die Rolle eines Entwicklers?

Ein Anwendungsentwickler muss künftig die Fähigkeit haben, sich voll und ganz in den Kunden hineinzuversetzen, und er muss gleichzeitig das volle technische Verständnis haben. Das heißt, Softskills, Wissen, Kreativität und Ideenfindung werden in die klassische Rolle eines Anwendungsentwicklers einfließen müssen.

Ein Anwendungsentwickler wird immer die Zukunft im Auge haben müssen, denn wenn eine Applikation gut ist und sehr gut angenommen wird, dann muss diese auch, wenn der Markt sie intensiv nutzt, jederzeit nach oben unendlich skalierbar sein. Man muss zudem immer flexibel auf den Markt reagieren können: Wenn es keine Zugriffe mehr auf eine Applikation gibt, dann muss man die Anwendung auch downgraden können, sie muss also auch nach unten skalierbar sein, und viele kleine Änderungen dürfen keine globalen Auswirkungen haben.

Das Ganze nennt man dann BizDevOps – die Verschmelzung der Entwicklung mit Business und Operation.

Wenn ihr so schnell geworden seid, heißt das, man benötigt künftig weniger Mitarbeiter?

Auch wenn wir mit der Time-to-Market fünfmal so schnell geworden sind wie vorher, brauchen wir noch jede Menge Mitarbeiter, denn die Kundenanforderungen gehen uns nicht aus!

Und wie sieht eure Vision für die Zukunft aus?

Künftig setzen wir AI (Artificial Intelligence) und VR/AR (Virtual und Augmented Reality) ein, um Kundenbedürfnisse noch besser und effizienter umzusetzen. Ein weiteres Beispiel ist die Google Vision: Künftig wird man Software nicht mehr programmieren, sondern man trainiert sie quasi, wie man einen Hund trainiert. Anwendungsentwickler werden möglicherweise Bausteine trainieren, anstatt sie selbst zu entwickeln.

Das heißt, ein Anwendungsentwickler wird in der Zukunft die Herausforderung haben, immer am Ball zu bleiben, um Tools wie AI/VR/AR als Unterstützung in der Applikationsentwicklung zielgerichtet und zeitsparend einsetzen zu können. Mit Tools wie Google Glasses und Co. können weitere Bedienelemente in unsere Applikationen integriert werden.

Gerold, herzlichen Dank für deine Ausführungen und den Einblick in das Leben eines Anwendungsentwicklers. Ich bin schon gespannt, wie es bei euch weitergeht – ich werde dranbleiben!

Michaela Alker

hatte in ihren 14 Jahren bei uns bereits die unterschiedlichsten Jobs im Bereich Infrastruktur inne. Derzeit ist sie für Kommunikation und Wissensmanagement im Bereich Infrastructure & Common Platforms zuständig. Außerdem begleitet sie unser Unternehmen in einer strategischen Neuausrichtung als Change Agent und ist auch Sprecherin der Change Agents.